Friday, February 7, 2014

Black Milk Debuts New Song 'Cold Day'

Black Milk Cold DayBlack Milk

After dropping his critically acclaimed album, ‘No Poison No Paradise,’ last year, Black Milk returns with a new banger called ‘Cold Day.’

The song boasts a mellow boom-bap beat, a guitar loop and soulful harmonies. On the song, the Detroit native spins a cautionary tale of crime and punishment in the D.

“Cold day in the summer / Right when you think that it’s over, that’s when n—-s take you under / Yeah the inner-city weather where crooks is always ready / Used to walk around with toolies tucked inside they Pelle Pelles,” he raps.

It’s clear from listening to the song that Black Milk was heavily influenced by the production work of the late and great J Dilla.

‘Cold Day’ will appear on the rapper-producer’s upcoming ‘Glitches in the Break’ EP. The collection arrives digitally on March 4. For you vinyl heads, a 12-inch of the EP will be available on Record Store Day, April 19.

‘Glitches in the Break’ EP Tracklist
1. ‘There Are Glitches
2. ‘Dirt Bells
3. ‘Ruffin
4. ‘Silence
5. ’1 for Dam
6. ‘G. (Featuring Guilty Simpson)
7. ‘Cold Day’
8. ‘Reagan’ (Featuring Fat Ray)
9. ‘Break’

Listen to Black Milk’s ‘Cold Day’

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

View the original article here

No comments:

Post a Comment